A Mayor's Vision

Domagoso Isko Moreno

City of Manila

Mayor Isko started his political career when he was elected and sworn as councilor for Manila’s first congressional district in 1998 and was reelected in 2001 and 2004 respectively. In 2007, he became vice mayor of the city. On July 2017, he was appointed as the chairman of the board of the North Luzon Railways Corporation until his resignation in October 2017. In the following year, he was appointed as the Undersecretary for Luzon Affairs at the Department of Social Welfare and Development. He officially resigned from his post to run for Mayor of Manila in the 2019 elections, where he finished with a landslide victory.

Abby Binay

Makati City

Makati Mayor Mar-len Abigail S. Binay is a lawyer who has both served in both the legislative and executive branches of government. She first represented Makati in Congress in 2007 when she was 31 years old, making her one of the youngest solons in the country. In 2016, she won the mayoral race in Makati and immediately instituted reforms and innovations in the programs and operations of the city government to make services more efficient, accessible, and convenient for Makatizens. Now on her second term, Mayor Abby continues to lead Makati’s transformation into a technology-embracing "smart city" that is sustainable and resilient, as well as a model of inclusive progress and development.

Jerry Treñas

Iloilo City

Mayor Jerry Treñas was previously mayor from 2001 to 2010 before returning in July 2019. Prior to this, he served as Congressman for the lone district in Iloilo for three consecutive terms. Mayor Treñas was former Chairman of the League of Cities of the Philippines from 2007-2010. He has also served as a trustee of Cities Development Initiative for Asia since 2009, an initiative that provides assistance to medium-sized Asian cities to bridge the gap between their development plans and implementation of infrastructure investments.

Oscar Moreno

Cagayan de Oro City

Oscar Moreno is the Mayor of Cagayan de Oro City. He worked for 20 years in the national and international corporate legal profession, mostly in finance. He also served as Representative for the First District of Misamis Oriental for two terms and Governor of Misamis Oriental for three terms.

Bernard Dy

Cauayan City

Since becoming a mayor in 2013, Mayor Bernard Faustino La Madrid Dy he has transformed Cauayan City from once a neglected city into a bustling and first ever Smarter City in the Philippines by actively incorporating the use of science, technology, and innovation in planning, regulations, service delivery, and citizen participation. His active advocacy on Smarter City initiatives and the United Nations’ 17 Sustainable Development Goals has enabled him to lead the Philippines Smarter and Sustainable Cities (SSC) Taskforce to form a national movement of mayors in strengthening the objectives of smarter and sustainable cities.


Guillermo Luz

Liveable Cities Challenge

Guillermo Luz is an Associate Director at Ayala Corporation and Chief Resilience Officer and Adviser of the Philippine Disaster Resilience Foundation He served as the private sector co-chairman of the National Competitiveness Council, a public-private council that developed strategies for the long-term competitiveness of the Philippines through policy reforms, project implementation, institution-building, and performance-monitoring.

Join the Liveable Cities Labs

Know more